Click here for a web version    

Fourth International Forest Biorefinery Symposium
February 3-4, 2014  

After three successful editions with strong international presence, the organizing committee is pleased to announce the Fourth International Forest Biorefinery Symposium. The symposium will be held in conjunction with the 100th Anniversary of PaperWeek Canada on February 3rd and 4th, 2014 at the Queen Elizabeth Hotel in Montreal.

The symposium offers to the professionals and scientists from Canada and abroad, a platform for the presentation of recent advancements and technological breakthroughs related to forest biomass applications. Proposals for communications from industry, governments and universities are solicited.


You are invited to send abstracts of 300 words maximum, before September 2, 2013 to Mariya Marinova at Topics of interest for submission include:

• Forest biomass resources;
• Supply chain design;
• Biorefining technologies;
• Bioproducts from forest biomass;
• Markets and perspectives;
• Integration of biorefining technologies into P&P mills;
• Sustainability of forest biorefineries;
• Building links between the forest and the chemical industry;
• Successful biorefinery examples.


The authors of the accepted communications should submit a manuscript or a PowerPoint presentation for the proceedings of PaperWeek Canada. Authors of high-quality manuscripts will have the opportunity to publish in PAPTAC’s J-FOR (Journal of Science and Technology for Forest Products and Processes). Papers will be peer-reviewed by a working group of the symposium organizing committee that will recommend publication to the Editorial board of J-FOR.

Organizing committee:

Mariya Marinova, Chair (Polytechnique Montréal)
Lyle Biglow (Tembec)
Tom Browne (FPInnovations)
Martin Fairbank (Resolute Forest Products)
Jamal Chaouki (Polytechnique Montréal)


Ramin Farnood (University of Toronto)
James Olson (University of British Columbia)
Jean Paris (Polytechnique Montréal)
Chunbao Charles Xu (The University of Western Ontario)
Fernando Preto (Canadian Bioenergy Association)