Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
  • Français

    PAPTAC - Pulp and Paper Technical Association of Canada


    Douglas Atack Award for Best Mechanical Pulping Paper

    The Douglas Atack Award is given for the best paper presented at the mechanical pulping sessions at the previous annual meeting.

    The last winner is Yu Sun, Operation Specialist at Catalyst Paper, for her presentation in the PaperWeek 2018 Pulping Panel on « Wood and Fibre Quality Impacts».

    Yu Sun



    The Douglas Atack Award was created by the Mechanical Pulping Committee of the Pulp and Paper Technical Association of Canada in 1990, to recognise the contributions of Dr. Atack who has committed his working life to the science and technology of the mechanical pulping industry.

    Purpose and Objectives
    To foster the presentation of high quality papers in the field of mechanical pulping.

    Nature of Award
    The award consists of a certificate supplied by PAPTAC.

    All individuals involved in the pulp and paper or supplier industries will be eligible for this award. Any paper presented formally at a PAPTAC Annual Meeting session sponsored by the Mechanical Pulping Committee will be considered by the judging committee.

    Judging Rules
    Those being judged will be evaluated on presentation as well as on the content of the papers.

    Judging Committee
    The recipient of the award will be determined by a panel of three (3) judges from the mechanical pulping industry and selected by the Mechanical Pulping Committee.

    Award Presentation
    The winner(s) of the award will be announced at the spring Mechanical Pulping Committee meeting and an announcement will be made in the trade press. The award will be presented at the opening of the mechanical pulping session at the PAPTAC Annual Meeting subsequent to the meeting at which the paper was presented.

    You are here PAPTAC PAPTAC National awards